Panathinaikos achieved its first victory in this mini championship in a really impressive way! The Greens prevailed 3-0 over the team of PAOK Thessaloniki in a match held at Leoforos Stadium, in Athens.  The Shamrock celebrated a very important three pointer in its struggle to get one of the “tickets” leading to next season’s European Cups. Thus they got the psychological boost needed in order to keep competing in the coming very demanding matches. It is important to note that this was Panathinaikos’ second victory over PAOK, just into a three weeks period.

One has to mention that, once more, Lazlo Boloni had to make his plans without counting on the services of his midfielders Sankharé, Αyoub and Kourbelis and that this was the first game for Mauricio after his recovering from an injury.

The first half of the match had few nice moments before the goalposts of both teams. One of them, though, was just enough for the Shamrock to open the score by an ideal way!  Villafañez got a long pass from Chatziyiovannis and crossed the ball straight to Macheda, who scored from very close the first goal of the duel. This way the Italian striker proved, once more, that PAOK is a suitable rival for him… being the player who opened the score during the last match Day of the championship against that same team.

During the second half Panathinaikos used a correct tactic game without letting the team of Thessaloniki threaten its area, with the exemption of one play, when Dioudis stopped a shoot by Crespo. This way we came to the 79th minute and the hosts doubled their goals with a straight smart shoot by Villafañez, executing a foul. This way the Greens “sealed” the three pointer but the icing on the cake was yet to come; Aitor following an exemplary counterattack scored a superb third goal for the Greens!.

This way Panathinaikos has gained 49 points, being now just one point behind today’s rival and looking toward the “derby” against his eternal rival, to be held at “Karaiskakis” stadium.

Panathinaikos: Dioudis, Μollo, Juankar, Schenkeveld, Pouggouras, Νias (87᾽ Κampetsis), Αlexandropoulos, Μauricio (74᾽ Sanchez), Chatziyiovannis (78᾽Αitor), Villafañiez, Μacheda (78᾽ Ιoannidis).

PΑΟΚ: Paschalakis, Rodrigo, Ingasson, Crespo, Baba, Schwab (70᾽ Warda), Αugusto, Ζivkovic, Μurg (62᾽Τzolis), Εl Κadhouri, Swiderski (70᾽Κrmencik).