Thanks to a goal by Muniaín, Athletic won the rematch, after the first leg held in Leoforos and qualified for the group stage of Europa League. The aggregate score was 4-2, as the Basks won against Panathinaikos 1-0 in a duel held in San Mamés for the second leg of Europa League’s play offs.

Athletic entered the match very strongly, as usual, trying to impose its rhythm limiting the “Greens” in their box, from a very early stage. They intended to open the score giving no chance to Panathinaikos. Although the first “intents” seemed to pass without fear for the “Shamrock”, Aduriz by his high class and outstanding technique destroyed the balance in the defense and created the scenario for a 1-0. This was achieved in the 22nd minute by Muniaín, almost in front of an empty goalpost.

From that point forward Panathinaikos started gradually to gain spaces in the pitch, improving its passing game which put him in a shooting position. Cabezas threatened twice by shooting just outside the box, before Chavez sent the ball to the left post of the rival team. This was the best chance the “Greens” have had till then and after woods they started to press in order to make things harder for their opponent.

The second period was not the continuation of the first one, as the hosting team prevailed over their guests creating and losing chances, mainly with Aduriz, whom the opponent defenders could hardly limit. The almost … forced substitutions, due to tiredness, gave a new breath to Panathinaikos as Altman and mainly Molins entered the match with a lot of strength and good will. The Swede striker created chances for his teammates and for himself, though the equalizer wasn’t scored; even not when Luciano shot strongly toward the opponent goalposts in the 87th minute. This way Panathinaikos was eliminated from the next stage of the competition, undergoing a second loss from the Basque team which will continue in the group stage.


Athletic Bilbao:Herrerin, Lekue, Etxeta, Laporte, Balenziaga, San José, Beñat (74’ Rico), Susaeta (64’ Williams), Muniaín (79’ Aketxe), Córdova, Aduriz.

Panathinaikos:Vlachodimos, Johansson, Koutroumbbis, Kolovetsios, Hult, Cabezas (67’ Molins), Kourbelis, Zeca, Lod (66’ Altman), Luciano, Chavez (74’ Donis).