Just a week after their impressive victory against Apollon Smyrnis by 4-0, Panathinaikos was … wounded in Ioannina. The team of PAS Giannina won 1-0 and thus the Greens experienced their first defeat in a game for Super League’s Interwetten championship.

The hosts scored very early by a technical shoot of Gardavski and from then on they became very defensive against Panathinaikos who did a huge effort to score having a great ball possession (74-26%). The Greens created many chances but were not effective, lost their patience and thus lost the match… This was the sixth consecutive time the Greens were defeated in that city (in both Cup and championship competitions)!

PAS Giannina has shocked the team of Panathinaikos from the very beginning and started pressing from the 2nd minute with Peersman after a corner, but Sarlija sent the ball away. This was not the case, though, as in the 5th minute the hosts scored. Perea got the ball, passed it to Gardavski who was running towards the rival box. He received the ball on the movement and scored the unique goal of PAS in the duel after shooting a spinning ball.

Τhe Shamrock then started controlling the game passed the ball nicely in various occasions but had a lot of difficulties to break PAS compact defense. They did so though in the 42nd minute with Mauricio, Carlitos and Juankar but the assist they gave to Aitor and the shoot of the latter passed a bit out of Lodigin’s posts.

In the second half Panathinaikos took again the rains of the match and tried to build its attack in order to score. A foul shot in the 54th minute by Lundqvist passed just slightly out of the rival posts again and another initiative by Palacios and Vital in the 78th minute were blocked by Lodigin.

The Greens continued to press their rivals without a positive result though and thus the end of the match marked the first defeat of the Athenian team for this season’s championship.

PAS Giannina: Lodigin, Saliaka, Peersman, Eramouspe, Κargas, Κarachaslios (70’ Siontis), Dominguez, Gardavski, Schneider, Perea, Conte (43’ Μorreira, 86′ Μilιnceanu).

Panathinaikos: Dioudis, Κotsiras, Juankar, Velez, Sarlija, Ruben, Μauricio (69’ Villafanez), Αitor (69’ Palacios), Vital (79’ Chatzigiovannis), Lundqvist (56’ Ιoannidis), Carlitos (79’ Macheda).